Course Overview
1. Introduction to SCM
What is Information System Development?
Information Systems
Development Stages
Project Management
Configuration Management
Environment Management
Workspace Management
Version Control
Release Management
Issue Management
Dependency Management
SCM Processes Overview
SCM Concepts and
Repository Concepts
2. Creating Containers & Workareas
3. Setting User Privileges
4. Entering the Versioned World
5. Storing Files in the Repository
6. Identifying Dependencies in the Repository
7. Managing Workareas
8. Creating Configurations
9. Simultaneous Development with Branching
Course Summary

Information Systems Development Stages

Broadly, the Development stage comprises Define, Build and TestWhatever development method you use, it will consist of a set of essential stages. In this course, we've called these Define, Build, and Test.


In the Define stage you identify the requirements for the system. These must acknowledge the needs of the business, the development strategy and the chosen technology strategy and infrastructure. The deliverables of these activities are often referred to as metadata.


The Build stage is the one where you produce the system that matches the requirements. This may include creating a new system or modifying an existing one. Commonly, deliverables are things like run time objects, whether formally or informally specified, documentation, and tables with data.


The objective of the Test stage is to verify that your system works correctly and matches the requirements identified during the Define stage. A common deliverable of the Test stage is a system signed off by the customer. Clearly, the Define, Build, and Test stages can be performed both sequentially or in parallel, but are most often performed iteratively